This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Hey, bibliophiles!

I was so excited to read This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab, which I received in my July OwlCrate! I will admit that it’s the first novel I’ve read by Victoria Schwab, and now… I’M ADDICTED. I adore her writing and narration! But all that in time. First, here’s a quick summary of This Savage Song via Amazon:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

owlcratecontents

Based on the summary, I wasn’t sure how I was going to like the book. I was hesitantly optimistic; it seemed like such a fantastic idea, but I didn’t know how the execution was going to work. I WAS WORRIED FOR NOTHING. It was amazing! The story line flowed nicely. There was appropriate character development structured within an action-packed plot. At no point did I ever feel like the writing was being overly or obviously descriptive during the world-building. It came natural and I was always left with questions, but in a good way, in a way that kept me reading!

Additionally, I loved, loved, loved the theme of good vs. evil with blurred lines. What does being good really mean? How do you define evil? I hear that this is a theme in most of Victoria Schwab’s books so I’m SO EXCITED to read more by her! I appreciate that, especially in YA, there’s starting to be more novels that explore the duality of life. There’s no obvious bad guy or hero. We all have darkness and light within us. Okay, stepping off my soap box now….

savagesongtally

It seems that this novel will be part of a series since it is a Monsters of Verity novel. There is so much excitement building inside of me, but my poor little heart can’t stand anymore waiting for another series! I spent years counting down until the next Harry Potter book came out, for the completion of The Lunar Chronicles series, and I will ALWAYS be waiting for GRRM to get on with A Song of Ice and Fire. This series is going to be right up there with all of those. GET HYPE.

Until next time, bibliophiles….